82 / 63
      85 / 61
      85 / 62

      Five U.P. counties added to emergency declaration

      Eight more counties in Michigan are now included in Governor Snyder's emergency declaration. Five of those counties are in the U.P.

      Gogebic, Chippewa, Delta, Luce and Mackinac counties were added to list Wednesday. They join Marquette County which was added in April.

      This winter's extremely cold temperatures and deep frost levels caused widespread damage to water and sewer mains.

      The emergency declaration opens the door for state assistance. It also authorizes state police to coordinate response and recovery efforts.