37 / 12
      35 / 22
      35 / 23

      Governor Snyder declares state of emergency in 19 Michigan counties

      Governor Rick Snyder declared a state of emergency in 19 counties across the State of Michigan on Tuesday.

      This is in response to severe flooding that has impacted parts of Michigan, including the Upper Peninsula. The disaster declaration covers Baraga, Barry, Benzie, Genesee, Gogebic, Gratiot, Houghton, Ionia, Kent, Keweenaw, Marquette, Mecosta, Midland, Muskegon, Newaygo, Ontonagon, Osceola, Ottawa and Saginaw counties.

      This declaration will ensure that the affected areas receive all possible resources provided by the Michigan Emergency Management Plan.

      "Our first responders and volunteer organizations must be commended for their tireless efforts to protect the public's safety during this flooding," said Governor Snyder. "This declaration makes available all the state resources that are needed to continue supporting local officials in their ongoing work to keep the public safe as the recovery efforts begin. We will be exploring all possible avenues for assistance to help affected residents and local governments recover from the severe flooding."

      The governor asked Federal Emergency Management Agency officials to join in assessing the extent of damage to homes, business, public facilities and infrastructure. The governor's office is asking all affected parties to have information readily available concerning flood damage to ease the assessment process.