If you live in the state of Michigan, you have a 1 in 70 chance of hitting a deer. In fact, Michigan ranks third on the list of the most car/deer accidents.
The Michigan State Police reports that each year, there are more than 60,000 reported vehicle/deer crashes in this state.
Moose are another common animal hit by cars.
Michigan law states that any injury, death, or damage over $1,000 must be reported to law enforcement if an animal is hit.
"People should stop because, not only the Michigan Vehicle Code is clear, but most insurance companies are going to require a report even though there may not be $1,000 damage to a vehicle," said Captain David Lemire, Marquette County Sheriff. "If you're going to get that vehicle repaired, your insurance company most likely is going to require a police report, and it's better to get it in the beginning than waiting two weeks and stopping at the local agency and getting it reported."
If you hit a deer and want to take it, a permit from law enforcement is required. However, moose are a protected species and must be handled by the Department of Natural Resources.