82 / 59
      85 / 61
      86 / 63

      NMU Board approves three new charter schools

      (Courtesy NMU Communications) The NMU Board of Trustees approved charters and start-up boards for three schools in lower Michigan, effective July 1. This brings the total number of NMU charter schools to 10.

      Both the Frances Reh Academy in Saginaw and the George Crockett Academy in inner-city Detroit are K-8 facilities and were formally chartered by Ferris State University.

      When their contracts with FSU came up for reauthorization, they explored a new option with NMU and completed an intensive application process. Universal Leadership Academy in Port Huron is managed by Bold Education Connections and the Romine Group. It will start as K-5 and progress to K-8.

      NMU charters three Upper Peninsula schools: Bahweting Anishnabe in Sault Ste. Marie, Nah Tah Wahsh in Hannahville and North Star Academy in Marquette.

      Lower Peninsula charter schools are Burton Glen in Burton, Walton in Pontiac, South Pointe Scholars Charter Academy in Ypsilanti and Experiencia Preparatory Academy in Detroit.