If you ride a motorcycle, you can now choose not to wear a helmet. But you need to meet certain criteria. The decades-long mandatory helmet law has now been amended.
Effective Friday, Michigan joins 30 other helmet-free states. The law comes with what some call stricter standards. To ride helmet-free you must be at least 21 years of age, have at least two years of riding experience and carry at least $20,000 in additional medical insurance.
Critics from AAA argue the law would increase motorcycle fatalities and injuries, resulting in a spike in insurance costs.
"In the law enforcement community, we're neutral on this issue," said Sgt. Kevin Dowling from the MSP Negaunee Post. "This is an act on legislature. You can still obviously wear a helmet if you choose to in Michigan, and this just gives an option to drivers who qualify and passengers who qualify to ride without a helmet."
Much like the seat belt law, police can pull you over if they feel you lack one of the three requirements.