34 / 30
      34 / 29
      40 / 26

      Seven U.P. schools get high honors

      Seven schools in the Upper Peninsula have been designated "Reward Schools" by the Michigan Department of Education. The designation means the schools either rate high on student achievement or they're making tremendous progress in student achievement.

      The honored schools include Calumet High School, Brimley Junior/Senior High School, Escanaba Area Public High School, West Iron County High School, Stephenson Middle School in Menominee County, Superior Central School in Alger County and Sleight Elementary School in Gogebic County.

      Statewide, 286 schools received the "Reward" honor.

      The state also identified what it calls "Priority Schools." That is, they're schools in the bottom five percent or any high school with a graduation rate of less than 60 percent for three consecutive years.

      One-hundred-forty-six schools got that designation, including the Nah Tah Wahsh Public School Academy in the Delta-Schoolcraft ISD.

      Finally, the state identified 358 "Focus Schools." They're schools with a huge gap between high achieving students and low achieving students. The Department of Education is calling on them to reduce the gap between students.

      Ten U.P schools are on the "Focus" list.

      They include LaSalle High School, West Iron County Middle School, Newberry Elementary School, Sault Area Middle School, Washington Elementary School (Sault Ste Marie Area Schools), Ontonagon Area Elementary School, William G. Mather Elementary School (Munising Public Schools), Joseph K. Lumsden Bahweting Anishnabe Academy (Easter Upper Peninsula ISD), Houghton Elementary School and Norrie Elementary School (Ironwood Area Schools of Gogebic County).

      For individual and school district data, click here .