15 / 8
      11 / 3
      12 / 4

      State of Disaster declared by Governor Rick Snyder

      Governor Rick Snyder declared a State of Disaster for Luce and Schoolcraft County on Friday afternoon. This is in response to the wildfires currently in the Upper Peninsula, including one that has scorched around 20,000 acres of land in northern Luce County.

      The declaration makes all state resources available to ensure the safety of Michigan citizens.

      â??This declaration makes available all state resources to support local response efforts in ensuring our citizens remain safe, and it helps reduce property loss from the ongoing wildfires,â?? Snyder said. â??We are committed to work together with local, state and federal emergency personnel to protect our citizens and communities from the dangers of these significant fires.â??

      Governor Snyder also issued Executive Order 2012-8 activating the National Guard to provide assistance.

      A hotline has also been established for the public to check on status updates of the fires in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. If you are looking for information, contact (855) 440-6424.

      The State of Disaster declaration also includes a burning ban in the following 49 counties in Michigan.

      Alcona, Alger, Alpena, Antrim, Arenac, Baraga, Bay, Benzie, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Clare, Crawford, Delta, Dickinson, Emmet, Gladwin, Gogebic, Grand Traverse, Houghton, Iosco, Iron, Isabella, Kalkaska, Keweenaw, Lake, Leelanau, Luce, Mackinac, Manistee, Marquette, Mason, Mecosta, Menominee, Midland, Missaukee, Montmorency, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Ogemaw, Ontonagon, Osceola, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Schoolcraft, and Wexford.