60
      Friday
      75 / 54
      Saturday
      78 / 56
      Sunday
      80 / 59

      Storms blow through parts of U.P.

      The National Weather Service has issued a severe thunderstorm warning for parts of the western Upper Peninsula.

      The warning issued for Gogebic County, Iron County and Ontonagon County will be in effect until 10:15 a.m. EDT/9:15 a.m. CDT. The NWS stated that the storm could produce quarter size hail and damaging winds.

      You can follow the system as it passes through the Upper Peninsula by visiting our Severe Weather Alerts page.

      The NWS expects thunderstorms to continue throughout the day in Upper Michigan.

      ----------------------------------

      At 6:29 a.m. EDT/5:29 a.m. CDT The National Weather Service Doppler radar was tracking strong thunderstorms along a line extending from Ishpeming to 8 miles east of Channing or along a line extending from Ishpeming to 20 miles east of Crystal Falls. These storms were moving northeast at 55 mph.

      Penny size hail, winds up to 30 mph and heavy downpours are expected with these storms.

      Locations in or near the path of these storms include: National Mine, Negaunee, Halfway Village, Big Bass Lake, Sands, Sugarloaf Mountain.