Michigan is launching a public information campaign about a new law that takes effect this week which prohibits teen drivers from using a hand-held cellphone while behind the wheel.
The event on Wednesday, held during the Michigan Traffic Safety Summit, will feature speakers discussing "Kelsey's Law," which takes effect Thursday.
The law applies to holders of Level 1 licenses who must be accompanied by a parent, guardian or another driver at least 21 years old. It also covers Level 2 licenses, which allow driving alone with limits on hours and carrying of young passengers.
The law is named in honor of 17-year-old Kelsey Raffaele from the Upper Peninsula town of Sault Ste. Marie. Kelsey was killed in a car accident in the winter of 2010 while using her cellphone.