87 / 64
      86 / 63
      86 / 61

      Greg Ives to become Earnhardt's Crew Chief in 2015

      Courtesy: NBC SPORTS

      Bark River native Greg Ives will replace the departing Steve LeTarte as crew chief for Dale Earnhardt, Junior and the number 88 team next season.Ives is currently the crew chief for points leader Chase Elliott of the Nationwide Series' number nine car.Earnhardt Team Owner Rick Hendrick said Ives was their first choice to replace LeTarte. LeTarte will be moving to NBC Sports at the end of the season.Ives is familiar with Earnhardt after working as an engineer for year with the number 48 car of teammate Jimmie Johnson.Dale Junior took to Twitter to say that although he has many more races to run this seaszon, he couldn't be more excited for Ives to take over next year.Earnhardt is in second place in the Sprint Cup Standings, fittingly just 24 points behind the 24 car of Jeff Gordon.