6 / -5
      4 / -9
      18 / -15

      Information about 42nd annual Upper Peninsula Sports Hall of Fame induction banquet

      Tickets are available for the 42nd annual Upper Peninsula Sports Hall of Fame induction banquet.

      The banquet is May 11 at Island Resort and Casino in Harris, 15 miles west of Escanaba on US-2/41. It is the first year at this location after being held at The Danforth Place in Escanaba since 2008. Previous banquets were held in Iron Mountain and Marquette.

      Tickets are $25 per person and must be purchased and/or ordered by May 8. They are available throughout the Upper Peninsula from members of the UPSHF executive council. (A complete list of members is included).

      The banquet begins at 6 p.m. (EDT) in the room behind the casino proper. Also recognized will be four U.P. high school students who will receive scholarships from the Hall of Fame.

      The 2013 induction class includes Paul Miller and Pat Groleau of Escanaba, Rick Comley and John Vasseau of Marquette, the late Ron Nettell of Hancock, Bob Whitens of Hermansville, Bob King of Manistique, Ron (Satch) Englund of Menominee, Deanna (Sutton) Kreski of Rudyard/St. Ignace and Deke Routheaux of Ironwood.

      Nomination deadline is June 1 each year, and once a person is nominated, the file remains active until they are selected. There are currently 272 nominations on file, with 149 in the pre-1970 division and 123 in the post-1970 division. Each year, seven inductees come from the post-1970 division and three come from the pre-1970 division. The cutoff was moved from 1960 to 1970 for the 2013 class.

      New nominations or updated information on previous nominees should be submitted to UPSSA executive secretary Dennis Grall in Escanaba, either at 2115 24th Ave. S., 49829, or via email at

      For tickets, contact:

      Escanaba: Dennis Grall (789-9005), Dave Lahtinen (786-8561).

      Gladstone: Wayne Marshall (428-4719).

      Manistique: Seb Rubick (341-2400).

      Hermansville: Frank Rodman (498-2421).

      Menominee: Bob Krysiak (863-9679).

      Iron Mountain: Mike Caruso (774-1918), Duane Tirschel (774-4023), Rex Terwilliger (774-6818).

      Sault Ste. Marie: Bill Crawford (632-3769), Fred DeVuono (635-5380).

      St. Ignace: Dave Latva (643-8886).

      Calumet: Bob Erkkila (337-4935).

      Hancock: Suzanne Sanregret (482-9548).

      Ontonagon: Cathy Shamion (885-5739).

      Wakefield: Gene Maki (224-6741), Nancy Osier (229-5176).

      Bessemer: Jim Partanen (663-4031).

      Munising: Deejay Paquette (387-4673).

      Marquette: Craig Remsburg (249-9301).

      Ishpeming: Steve Swanson (485-1316).

      Negaunee: Rod Guizzetti (475-4055), Dave Hallgren (475-6546)